Home Local News Republicans Dominate Turnout in Williamson County May 3 Primary Voting

Republicans Dominate Turnout in Williamson County May 3 Primary Voting


The Republican Party dominated the voter turnout totals in the Williamson County May 3 primary elections.

According to the Williamson County government elections website, 20,550 total votes were cast countywide. Of those, 18,240 were cast in Republican primaries, while 2,310 were cast in Democrat primaries.

Republican early voters cast 9,798 votes, and 1,003 were Democrat early voters. Republican votes cast in person on May 3 totaled 10,486, with Democrat votes at 1,241. A total of 266 absentee ballots were cast: 200 Republican and 66 Democrat.

Total voter turnout was 11.18 percent. Williamson County has 183,745 registered voters.

The full results can be viewed here.

Republican Primary Contested Race Victors – County Commission

Ricky Jones and Lisa Lenox won the primary for County Commission District 1. Judy Herbert and Betsy Hester won the County Commission District 2 GOP contest.

In the primary for County Commission District 5, Greg Sanford and Mary Smith were victorious. In the County Commission District 7 race, Tom Tunnicliffe and Bert Chalfant won.

Barb Sturgeon and Drew Torres won the County Commission District 8 race. Meghan Guffee and David Landrum were victorious in the District 10 race, as were Brian Beathard and Sean Aiello in District 11. The victors in District 12 were Brian Clifford and Steve Smith.

Voters chose two candidates from the fields in the contests for Williamson County Commission.

Republican Primary Contested Race Winners – Judicial Contests

Attorney Deanna Hood handily won the Republican primary for Circuit Court Judge, 21st Judicial District, Division II race over opponent Shane McNeill.

Incumbent Judge Sharon Guffee shellacked Connie Reguli in the race for Juvenile Court Judge to the tune of 50 percent of the vote, or 75 percent to 25 percent. Reguli is currently awaiting sentence for felony convictions and would likely have been unable to serve if she survived the primary and was elected in the general.

Other Republican Races

In the Williamson County Clerk’s race, incumbent Jeff Whidby blew out former Speaker of the Tennessee House of Representatives Glen Casada 12,860 votes to 4,218.

Josh Brown won the County Board of Education, District 4 race, defeating Elliott Franklin. Donna Clements, Eric Welch, and Drason Beasley won districts 8, 10, and 12, respectively.

The Williamson Families PAC-endorsed candidates went 1 for 3 in contested school board races and 4 for 8 in contested county commission races.

Incumbent Mayor Rogers Anderson was unopposed. No official candidate ran in the Democrat primary for mayor, although there were 58 write-in votes.

Williamson County is an overwhelmingly Republican county. Democrats left most of the seats unopposed.

– – –

Aaron Gulbransen is a reporter at The Tennessee Star and The Star News Network. Email tips to [email protected] Follow Aaron on GETTRTwitter, and Parler.
Photo “Election Day 2020” by Phil Roeder. CC BY 2.0.


This article is first published on Source link

Previous articleRaw O-line rookie could play immediate role
Next articleCOVID Report for Okfuskee County, cases are up – no new deaths – Okemah News Leader